Quote

…And the things I couldn’t grab and run

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Burnt.”

I managed to take 5 things with me during that fire that I hope the gods still forbid. And there I was sitting on the ground outside, bruised, back with soot and exhausted. I had my 5 things with me. I couldn’t help thinking…what if I could take the other things I was attached to, or really needed as well?

1. Definitely my phone- It’s the one thing that keeps me connected with the world and the people around me. I do get mini heart attacks when I momentarily lose my phone, and now, it’s all burnt.

2. The rest of my books- I managed to carry about 5 books with me, the rest…oh no please I don’t even want to think about this.

3. The first trophy I won in Toastmasters- it was a big moment. Although I have its certificate, that trophy was something.

I guess these are probably the only things I would regret not taking. I did lose a lot of things in that fire (that the gods forbid) but time heals everything doesn’t it? I am sure I will make my peace with it soon enough.

Leave a Reply

