It’s time to make a dent

While turning 30 is seem as a very, very bad thing indeed (Joey from the sitcom Friends shouting “Why God?! Why us?!” comes to mind), turning 20 is the exact opposite. If you have just turned 20 or are about to, people will tell you to make the best of it.

I just turned 20. Although I received no such advice on what to do or not now that I’ve reached “the most productive decade of my life”, I do have a few things I am looking forward to (the introspection is because of waaayyyyyyy too much free time).

  • It’s time to take control

No longer are elders going to hold it against me if I decided to do something super-unconventional (that time has passed. Oh so slowly, but it did). If you have anything at all you want to do at least once in your life, the time has come. We are now the master of your life.

  • It’s time to fail…and learn

If there is a business idea that might fetch millions, or a skill to be learnt, 20 is the age to think seriously about it. What better time to fail, than the time when there is nothing to lose?

  • It’s time to dream

I have a huge bucket list (which I won’t list. The time to embarrass myself is not now). And I am certainly going to make an attempt at every single dream on that list. And I will continue adding things to it every year. There is no life without dreaming, and this time is the pink of your life.

  • It’s time to realize that 6 pack abs don’t matter that much, if you can put a smile on another person’s face…

  • ….Doesn’t mean you let your body go!

6 packs may not matter, but I certainly want to get fit. One of the things on my bucket list is to run a marathon!

  • It’s time to tell the world you exist

Most of us are not child prodigies. This is the time we announce ourselves to the world. So I’m going to get a freakin’ megaphone and do it!

Whatever it is that you want from this decade, I hope you’ve got one thing in mind. Make a dent in the world, in your life. Because you’ll remember it forever.

Leave a Reply

