Quote

Hearing aid, please!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Brilliant Disguise.”

In the field of communication training, lesson 1 is about listening. A lot of the problems of miscommunication happens because the receiver does not get the message intended by the sender.

I had a beautiful demonstration of this, that turned out to be rather humorous later on for both the parties involved.

It was mid November, and I was meeting this girl (a mutual friend) for the first time. We decided to meet in a rather crowded mall. We hit it off immediately! It felt great talking to her and we talked about every random thing that came to our minds.

In the middle of the conversation, she asked a question.

I heard the question as, “Have you had sex?”

“Rather early in the day to ask that…” I thought to myself. “Um..no. Have you?” I asked her back.

“Oh yeah!” She said very excitedly. “Initially I thought it’s a girl, but it turned out to be a boy. He’s soo cute, you know? There’s a picture of mine with him on Insta. Check it out!” She went on.

I….nodded politely. I was flabbergasted, to say the least. For the next 30 seconds, I paid no attention to what she was saying, trying to figure out what she meant.

Suddenly, I heard her say, “…and he has this annoying habit of staring at me from the top of the cupboard in the middle of the night. It freaks me out!”

“Really?” I asked, still super confused. “Why is he on your cupboard again? And why does that staring freak you out?”

“see, he likes to sleep on the cupboard. And, you know cats have eyes that glow in the dark…”

Wait, cat?!

And I went back to that question…

Oh!! It was “Have you had pets?” not sex. Epic case of not listening properly, huh?

I told this to her after a few weeks. The number of laughing emijos she sent me said it all.

2 thoughts on “Hearing aid, please!

Leave a Reply

