The truth about “writer’s block”

The most common “disease” that afflicts a lot of people (bloggers or otherwise) is the writer’s block. The term is defined as a condition of being unable to think of what to write or how to proceed writing.

As a writer, I’ve come to realize that that’s not what a writer’s block is. This term has become a silly excuse for professional writers and an easy excuse for people who are being forced to write something.

“Oh man, I can’t think of anything to write about, I have a writer’s block!”

If you are a writer worth your pen (or keyboard), you can’t ever have nothing to write about.

Just as there are some people in this world (read, my girlfriend) who never run out of things to say, every person in this world can write something or the other at every point in time. It’s just that you don’t get anything to write about that is worthwhile.

I faced a situation like this earlier this year. I had just come out with the blog and was going gung-ho! about it in the first month. Then came April and May where I did not post ANY post on the blog. I pranced around calling it a “writer’s block” (you’ve got to hand it to them, it does sound fancy).

In reality, I had had a lot of things I could have written about. There was the time I got into a fight with a driver (verbal of course), the time when I was roaming from one corner of the city to another giving speeches when I had an exam the next day, the situation I was in before an exam and the elation I had after it was over.

The reason I didn’t write about any of them was because it wasn’t worthwhile. It didn’t make sense and I couldn’t get it to make sense. That’s the real block, not getting ideas worth your writing time.

Why do I say that we can never run out of ideas? It’s because of one of my previous posts- Thinking (if you haven’t read that, click here). The human mind has something or the other that always goes on in the head. The only time you are completely blank is just before you sleep or just after a climax. Otherwise, you can never stop thinking, and therefore, you will always have ideas. 

It’s your choice if you want to write on those ideas or not. When you get a string of ideas that you decide not to write on, you go and call it a “writer’s block”.

So I propose a change in the definition. A writer’s block is a condition where you are unable to think of worthwhile things to write about, or how to proceed with something good.

(If you are a person from some big dictionary firm, please consider the idea. If you are not, tell me what you think. If you think this is right, pass the message on.)

3 thoughts on “The truth about “writer’s block”

Leave a Reply

