Quote

This is the dream that keeps me awake, Mr. Kalam…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This).”

It is ironic that today’s prompt is about dreams.

A dream is not something you get when you sleep. It is the thing that doesn’t let you sleep.

-Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam.

Today at around 7 pm IST, this great past President of India, Dr. A.P.J.Abdul Kalam passed away. He is probably the one person in the country who managed to break all the religious mumbo jumbo that’s plagued our society and reach out to every Indian.

So in his memory, I’m going to share a dream of mine that has not let me sleep. In fact, I think of this dream almost every night in bed. Every time it pushes its way into my consciousness, I’m filled with energy and hope.

I want to travel (clichéd? maybe). But this isn’t just the backpack travel. I want my life to be on the road, and the road to this life, this dream, is the road of professional speaking. It is by far the way to change the world and make a difference that appeals to me the most. I am fascinated by every professional speaker I come across, and I really think this is THE way in which I can leave a mark on the world- “Saurab Babu lived during this time. This is what he did. This is what he said.”

Changing the world is what Kalam did. He has left a huge void. I hope that inspired by this man, inspired by his dream, I can change the world through my dream as well. I don’t know if I can reach the level this man did, but I’m sure as hell going to try.

Mr. Kalam, you were an amazing person. R.I.P

Leave a Reply

