The beginning of it all

Alright, so lets back up a bit.

What was I like before this journey started?

Here’s a look at it:

image

You might say, “that’s not so bad!”

Yes, it’s not so bad. I didn’t start off on this path big, overweight and a junk food maniac. I was at the other end of the spectrum. I LOOKED fit, but I was nowhere near fit. I was thin, really thin. I had a belly despite having no muscle or bulk (which is the worst kind of belly) and I didn’t have the physique you would typically associate with a person who’s life revolves around sports.

That picture was taken in October of 2014. I was just about to run a 5 km obstacle race. I was pumped! 5 kms? Pfft! I should do that in 30 minutes, I reckoned…..

……1 hour and 24 minutes later….

I huffed and puffed my way across the finish line. It wasn’t just how slow I ran that shocked me. It was that I hardly ran the whole distance. Every 4 hundred metres or so, I would slow down to a trot, maybe even walk, because my stamina was close to zero.
Those obstacles I had to face were something; bear crawls, rope climbs, balance beams, monkey bars, among others. Took me at least 3 attempts on each obstacle.
3!

I did get a medal for finishing it.

image

I was so happy……that I at least, completed the damn thing. That I didn’t give up.

That, was my wake up call. That was that impulse that spurned me on a path of experimentation, pain, injuries, joys, disappointments, inspiration and self discovery.

Since then, I’ve been working towards a better me, a fitter me. But the beginning…

Was a lot harder than I thought it would be.

Leave a Reply

