Thank you, Delhi University

And it’s done.

3 years. It’s been 3 years since I became a part of this ridiculously awesome world, and it’s been one hell of a ride. These three years have seen me grow, learn to love myself, love others, be comfortable with change, be comfortable with new people and embrace experiences.

The biggest change this place has brought in me is to enjoy being with people from different backgrounds. When I first moved to Delhi, I would gravitate to people I was only comfortable with, and would shy away from people who were even slightly different from me. Different in their backgrounds, in the language they spoke and the things they did. I wasn’t comfortable. I’m ashamed to say this, but sometimes I would think I am superior to them. Today, these same people that I went away from 3 years ago are some of my best friends, friends, with whom I spend a lot of time and I enjoy it.

I can now say that I am comfortable in my own skin. All of my school life and a little after, I was prone to pretending to be someone I am not. Because the real me was…well, not someone many people would have liked. But you know what? There are people in the world who will like you for who you are. Maybe it takes age for them to reach the level you are, or it takes for them to be open minded. I found these people in this university, and I am so grateful for them. It is because of them that I am now happy with the person I am.

College is the place to explore, isn’t it? And explore I did. Travelling to different places in the country alone, or with your friends and no elders is an experience that will really grow. I’ve got that from this place. Hell, we used to get official trips too, because we are geologists (swag).

Strange as it may sound, I developed a sense of humor over here for the first time in my life! I would appreciate humor, but cracking jokes was not a talent I had in school. University, gave me that.

It also helped me find my passion in public speaking, and gave me the confidence to pursue it as a passion. Hopefully, something bigger will follow in the future.

I lived without my parents for the first time in these 3 years. Learning to adjust and be with people who have grown up in a different environment and finding common ground was…something, to say the least.

And lastly, it has given me the strength to act alone. To be unconventional. To consciously leave the herd. Whether it is with my hairstyle, my choice in friends, my interests or my decisions, this exposure has left me stronger for the future.

Every three years will seem like the best 3 years at that time in your life. But these 3 years will always remain special to me. And I’d like to give a shoutout to all the amazing people who have been with me through these years. Thank you.

Thank you, DU.

One thought on “Thank you, Delhi University

Leave a Reply

