My fitness journey so far

I thought I’ll share this for a few reasons:

  1. It helps me track how far I’ve come.
  2. It sort of acts as an accountability thing for the future.
  3. And you can take heart in the fact that, it’s only a matter of time before your results come too. Believe me, mine took quite some time.

I started off as a lanky kid, fairly athletic with no real muscle. I had a slight belly, but I was very thin. I used to play squash, so my stamina was better than the average person, but I never really focussed on it and tried to develop it consciously.

From June 2014 onwards, I started working towards getting a six pack. This part was completely haphazard, because I had no real guidance or an understanding of what I should do and how to go about it. The one thing I did do was run. And run a lot. In 3 months, this was what I looked like.

image

This was followed by my semester exams, and fitness took a back seat. I didn’t have any real motivation to get back into it, plus it was winter and it got really cold. So, by May 2015, I had really let myself go. This is what I looked like (the picture on the left).

image

Fast forward one year to May 15th, 2016. Yes, that’s the picture on the right. Awesome isn’t it?

In one year, along with this appearance change, I also saw massive gains in strength. I did 10 pull ups in one go, I can do a dragon flag and I can hold a plank for 2 minutes, among other things.

This change is a result of a mixture of undying motivation to get stronger, a proper fitness regime guided by a few sources of YouTube and the internet in general. The most recent fitness challenge I took up was in April. The Tapp Brothers Fitness Challenge (You have got to check their YouTube channel. They’re awesome).

All this while, I have never touched supplements or fat burners. This is all completely natural. The results did take time, but it came 🙂

For this year, my goal is not just the physical appearance. I hope to be able to do-

  1. A muscle up (and many more).
  2. A front level.
  3. Be able to run 5 km without a break.
  4. 25 pull ups in one go.
  5. 80 pushups in one go.
  6. 5 one hand push ups, in each hand.
  7. 60 second handstand.

You, can hold me to this list. By the end of the year, I will have achieved at least 5 out of 7. That’s a promise.

Leave a Reply

