When you have to live in a hostel…

Soon, I’m going to be starting a new chapter in my life.

For the first time, I’m going to be travelling to a different city to live alone and study. The last three years I was in college, I’ve been a “day scholar”, someone who lives in the same city and only attends college during the day, doesn’t live on campus.

While I did move out of my parents place to live for a year alone, it wasn’t exactly like living alone because I could just come back home if I needed something, or if I missed home.

Nothing like that can happen now. And as I prepare to start this journey, there have been a lot of things I have had to learn and deal with.

  • Food!!!!!!

No more food like this!

Man, am I going to miss home cooked food! I have heard a lot about food in hostels and I am not looking forward to it. I am going to have to figure something out because if I am to keep up with my fitness goals for the year, this will become a major problem!

  • Things that never mattered, now matter

If you can save up 10 bucks and walk 2 kms, do it. Because that little amount adds up and can be of use for something more important!

And things like bedsheets, pillow covers and all the other miscellaneous things that I never had to worry about when I was staying at home are all now my responsibility. I kind of feel like I can live without all of this, considering how much work they need. God bless Mum!

  • New people, new habits, rising tempers!

All my life, I have been living with people who know me, my habits, and give me the space I need. Also, I have never lived in a place which housed more than 5 people. Now, I am going to have to live with 100 other people under the same roof! I can be (my family will say that I am) hard to live with. And I do not look forward to this…

But all’s not blue! There are things I am looking forward to…

  • For instance, the institute I am moving to is in a forest…..

Which brings with it a welcome respite for pollution that I’ve lived in in Delhi. I can’t wait to wake up in the mornings and look out into the trees and listen to birds chirping!

  • I am also looking forward to making new friends…

They say the friends you make in college become friends for life. And if you can spend every waking hour with these “to-be-friends”, it’s bound to throw up exciting things!

Now, I’m not there yet. There are a lot of things I need to do before I actually end up in that institute, and I’ll be sure to keep you guys posted. Cheerio! 🙂

2 thoughts on “When you have to live in a hostel…

Leave a Reply

