A strong body follows a strong mind

Yes, you are motivated.

Yes, you want to be fit.

Yes, you want to look super hot.

But sometimes….you just can’t get up.

Sometimes, you are tired.

Sometimes, you don’t want to go on.

Sometimes, you want to forget it all and just have that slice of pizza.

What is unaffected by time and energy levels is your discipline. Motivation comes and goes but what is always there is your discipline.

Today, as I was coming back home from a dentist’s appointment, my dad and my brother got hungry and decided to buy some peppered corn to eat. My dad, decided to enjoy a chilled Coke too. Sitting there, next to them in the car, I was fighting. There as a voice in my head that just kept saying, “It’s ok! Have a cup of corn! it’s not going to matter!” And I kept fighting it for a whole half an hour, trying to distract myself from the enticing aroma of that cup of hot, roasted, peppered corn…

The last few days, I’ve been working very hard. I’ve been doing a lot of conditioning, skipping and running and the usual bodyweight training. And lately it’s been taking me a lot of effort to keep myself going. My motivation was drained…

That’s right. I was out of motivation. I was really tempted to give up and just have a big cheat day.

What saved me was the discipline I had cultivated over the last 6 months. The discipline to say no to what I want but don’t need. And it was by sheer will power that I resisted the urges to break my routine and have a cheat day.

I just want to tell you that even though motivation is great, and motivation is what primarily drives us to do things, especially when it comes to fitness, it can be drained. It can get depleted. What is unaffected by time and energy levels is your discipline. Motivation comes and goes but what is always there is your discipline.

So cultivate that. Be rigid. Be strong. Make sure you develop routines and good habits and stick to it no matter what. Because even if motivation fails you at times, discipline never will.

One thought on “A strong body follows a strong mind

Leave a Reply

